Stranger Danger! Signs of a Violent Personality

**NEW WEBSITE, 8/15/11**  Please visit www.timetofaceit.com.  Check back often for political candidate profiles.

What are the signs on the face you can look for to know if someone has violent personality?

We cannot change what happened in Tuscon, but we can take this opportunity to try to learn from it.   It is widely reported that Jared Loughner, the shooter responsible in the massacre in Tuscon displayed behavior that frightened other people to the point where he was kicked out of community college.  People were afraid that he could snap at any time.

In addition to identifying actions that could lead to violence, here are some things you can look for on a person’s face and in their body language that are strong indications that person may become violent.  If you see two or more of these things, the person is on the verge of hurting him or herself or others.  These are what I call “911 signals”.  It’s time to get professional help, fast.

1.  Whites of the eyes showing below the pupils – mental stress

Whites of eyes showing under pupil
Whites of eyes showing under pupil

2.  Whites showing above the pupils – means stressed to the point of violence.

Whites of eyes showing above the pupil
Whites of eyes showing above the pupil

3.  Whites showing all around the pupils means complete mental disconnect, state of shock.

Marshall Applewhite

Marshall Applewhite

4.  Puffy skin (eye puffs) in upper and lower eyelids – indicate extreme stress, snapping point, abuse of some substance.

Eye Puffs, Dark Circles

Eye Puffs, Dark Circles

5.  Dark circles all the way around eyes – a sign of lack of sleep, substance abuse, and health issues.  Sleep deprivation (Loughner had restless night before attack, report shows, read more HERE), is one of the main causes of psychotic breaks in individuals who are mentally unstable.  Psychotic breaks often end in violence (suicide is the most common result).

6.  Face is asymmetrical – when the two sides of the face look very different from each other, this person has become unbalanced and unstable.  (See Loughner’s right side as compared to his left side). Go HERE to read more about Loughner’s asymmetrical face (Smiling Like a Killer).

Left Side Mirrored

Left Side Mirrored

right side mirrored

(Note on Loughner’s two faces:  Loughner’s left side is his personal side – he has built himself up in his mind to be a stone cold, sinister, powerful monster.  His right side is how he presents himself to the world.  This side shows that he is engulfed with fear, withdrawn, sick and powerless.)

7.  Face flushed red – irrational, not thinking straight.

8.  Jaw clenching – a sign of pent up frustration and anger, wants to act out

9.  Clenched fists – means he/she doesn’t want to talk about it, wants to take action.

10.  Fixed gaze, staring – the person is disconnected from reality.

11.  Rapid eye movement – the eyes dart back and forth – not thinking straight, the brain is in overdrive and something is about to explode.

It’s important to know there could be many factors behind behind these features.  For example, seeing the whites all the way around the pupils could indicate a health issue known as hyperthyroidism.   Seeing the whites below the pupils (thinking stressful thoughts) could mean that parent’s child has been called to the principal’s office and she is on her way to her child’s school to get the bad news.  However, more than two of these features, combined with aggressive body language is a danger signal.  Stay aware.  If someone you know has some of these signs, it’s time to find professional help.  With proper treatment, many of these signs will disappear.  We can all do our part to help make this world a safer place.

Julie

© 2011 Julie Theroux, Facesinthenews.com All Rights Reserved.

9 Responses to Stranger Danger! Signs of a Violent Personality

  1. resign says:

    Hi there I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment
    but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great
    jo.

  2. nick says:

    As you note after making these pseudo-scientific proclamations, there could be many underlying reasons for these symptoms. Hyperthyroidism, nystagmus, TMJ, embarrassment, birth defects or poor sleep habits (in the case of facial asymmetry)

  3. Idis says:

    I find the need for this article sooo sad. Not because of the writer or what’s written, but because of the fact that people don’t seem to be able to ‘read’ other people and understand them without them having to be told what could be what. All these signals WILL trigger something in other people, but most people are too tied up with themselves to even see those signals or notice their own response to it. That way they also won’t be able to see all the good signals that go against one of these bad ones and they’ll never truly be able to spot someone who REALLY is in trouble. So many times I had acquaintances or relatives judge someone incorrectly, because they can’t read ‘signals’. They just don’t ‘observe’. :/

  4. Kim says:

    My boyfriend snapped on me a few days ago,i kept telling the police and my friends that he had “black empty eyes” he held me hostage for three hours,wrote a suicide letter,made me write my own and eventually strangled me with a metal cord,pressed his elbow into my larynyx,plugged my nose and covered my mouth to stop me from breathing multiple times and eventually raped me as he held a pillow over my face till I was unconscious…

  5. Kim says:

    My boyfriend snapped on me a few days ago,i kept telling the police and my friends that he had “black empty eyes” he held me hostage for three hours,wrote a suicide letter,made me write my own and eventually strangled me with a metal cord,pressed his elbow into my larynyx,plugged my nose and covered my mouth to stop me from breathing multiple times and eventually raped me as he held a pillow over my face till I was unconscious…he would get more irate when id cry and beg to stop,he was NOT himself! Luckily after he made me send my son a “goodbye email” he left the room for a second where I was able to email a friend who is a cop for help. His jail photo,his face was uneven like the pic above. Felonious assault,rape and obstruction charges,today he went to court and the judge gave him an OR bond,meaning he gets out of jail for free!

  6. This is really fascinating, You are a very skilled
    blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in search of extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my
    social networks

  7. Hi there Dear, are you truly visiting this website regularly, if so after that
    you will definitely get fastidious know-how.

  8. Jose says:

    I have some of the characteristics described above, but that’s because I’m hispanic. People from other ethnic groups and from other races have some of those characteristics as well. Does it mean we’re all deranged? Of course not. I agree with someone above you said this is ‘pseudo’ science – at its best…or is it worst? either way, it’s bad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

